Day 18

Feeling equally excited and sad, I peddled off toward Charleston for the final leg of my journey. Excited because I knew my goal destination was within easy reach, and sad knowing that upon arrival my biking trip would be over.

IMG_1439What started out in the morning as a nightmarish ride on highway 17, sharing the road (not on the shoulder, but the actual vehicle lane) with fast moving cars and trucks, quickly turned into a peaceful ride along quiet country roads. At one point the police had blockaded my route with their vehicles, lights flashing. I rode around the blockade (my inner rebel urging me on) and soon found out why the road was closed. There had been some resent heavy rains causing the roadways in the area to flood. I peddled on, riding through the flowing flood waters while a helicopter circled overhead. Looking down I watched tiny schools of fish dart through the spokes of my tire as it slowly churned through the water. It was a cool, refreshing part of the ride, and my tires and sandals benefitted by getting a good washing too! Soon I was riding the final few miles into Charleston down a bike path that alternated from gravel, to grass, to pavement. Then, the final push up and over the bridge and down into town – yay! I made it to Charleston!!!!  🙂

Thank you for following along in spirit with me via my blog. And, thanks for your encouraging comments, texts, and phone calls. And especially thanks to Susi and Chris who were the SAG drivers and brought me cold drinks and charged my phone when I ran dry out in the middle of nowhere. I will make one or two more posts with stats from my trip, and some sites around Charleston.

I’m ready to start planning my next adventure!

STATS:
From: Jacksonboro, SC to Charleston, SC
Today’s Miles: 37
Total Trip Miles: 655

3 thoughts on “Day 18

  1. Congratulations Peggy! Loved your adventure. Now get back to WPB so we can have a proper celebration at the wine bar, with root beer of course. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

